50 Comments

Good luck!

Expand full comment

Good luck to you and your surgeon!

Expand full comment

Good luck, and while I wish you a speedy recovery don't hesitate to take some more time if you need it. Rest is important, and we'll all still be here when you get back.

Expand full comment

The very best of luck. So much luck! Luck to infinity and beyond.

Expand full comment

Best of luck!

Expand full comment

Heal!

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2023·edited Apr 8, 2023

Thirty-odd years ago, I went in for a non-invasive thyroid treatment. My case was unusual enough that the doctor who was treating me brought in a group of about 20 medical students so they could learn about my symptoms, history, etc.

The treatment involved a very large dose of radioactive iodine, and the doctor spent a good 10 minutes discussing this with me, going through all the agencies I would need to notify if I barfed on the way home or when I got there, just how long I'd be radioactive, and other niceties. When he got to the end, he asked if I had any questions. I could not resist asking "Will I be able to play the piano after this?"

To my astonishment, the doctor answered me very seriously: "Sure. I see no reason why you wouldn't be able to play."

So of course I hit him with the classic punchline "Well, I couldn't play it before!"

The students laughed, and he, after a two-second pause to process what had just happened, also laughed.

Then I swallowed a very large capsule, and I no longer have a thyroid (although I can read in the dark).

Best wishes as always, Roy! We're all pulling for you, and if there's anything at all you need (or even have a vague desire for), drop us a note.

Expand full comment

Take care, and best wishes for a smooth and happy recovery.

Expand full comment

Best of luck, and may your drugs be good!

Expand full comment

A sterile and bright operating theater, cool air humms out of large vents in the ceiling. SURGEON stands gloved and gowned as SCRUB NURSE weels in a drowsy ROY EDROSO.

SURGEON: Morning! I see you are as handsome in a gown as David on a pedestal. Rest easy knowing that this team has performed hundreds of procedures like this before, always successful, always a quick recovery.

ROY: can you save it for me? (Beat) Like in a jar or something?

Everyone laughs as ANESTHESIOLOGIST clamps a mask over ROY's face.

SURGEON: That'd be some jar!

Cut to white

Expand full comment

Gosh, Roy. Didn’t realize it was medical leave! Um, as they say in the theater world, “break a leg!” Seriously, will be sending healing thoughts your way

Expand full comment

Best wishes, Roy. Good health ahead, we hope.

Expand full comment

BOL!

Expand full comment

Hope it's more restful than awful.

Expand full comment

Roy went to see his doctor.You remember Roy's doctor ? Dr Vinnie Boombatz? Roy has a carrot

In his left ear, a banana in his right ear and green beans stuffed up his nose.

He says " Doc. I feel terrible. "

Doctor says " You're not eating properly"

When I was young I used to read the directions on my prescriptions and think "Well. that's just a guideline." As I've gotten older I realize that those those directions need to be followed exactly

In order to work as they should. I have, however, come to believe ( from extensive personal experience) that all prescriptions and even OTC drugs will work better with the addition of Marijuana edibles.

That's just common sense to me.

Expand full comment

Good luck Dude.

Expand full comment

🍀🤞

Expand full comment

Good luck!

Expand full comment

Wishing you good luck, great doctors and nurses, and easy and quick recovery.

Expand full comment

Best wishes for a smooth procedure and a speedy recovery!

Expand full comment

Good luck Roy! We will eagerly await the return of your somber, Shackletonian missives, delivered regularly from your lonely Arctic outpost!

Expand full comment

As requested, I again wish you luck.

And the good kind of thoughts and prayers, too!

Expand full comment

Good luck! Don't forget about the food smuggling!

Expand full comment

Good luck and, as the Turks say, geçmiş olsun!

Expand full comment

Here is to a speedy recovery!

Expand full comment
Apr 9, 2023·edited Apr 9, 2023

Thanks. It wasn't necessary, I get more than my money's worth. Stay well.

(Throw strikes, change speeds, stay ahead of the hitters.)

Expand full comment

Good luck Roy!

Expand full comment

Good luck! (And remember, we're all counting on you.)

Expand full comment

Good luck

Expand full comment

Best of luck Roy! Hope everything goes OK, or rather, better than OK. And in a smoother, more hi-tech, more hygienic, and less painful way than looks to be the case in the above illustration. Get well soon and take as much time off as you need. Love the blog.

Expand full comment

Best of luck!

Expand full comment

If there is any subscriber here who would cavil at our host’s taking all the time he needs to convalesce—a week, a month, a season if need be—my seconds will call on you.

Expand full comment

Best wishes for a speedy recovery. Have you ever considered adding a co-blogger? Like, say, the beautiful and talented Kia Penso? You'd have to pay her the going rate, of course.

Expand full comment

I’ll keep a prayer for ya, Roy. Let us know if you need anything. Take care and be well.

Expand full comment

Sorry I missed this. Get well soon buddy!

Expand full comment

Waiting impatiently to hear how our patient is doing!

Expand full comment