24 Comments

Aw, thanks, Maestro!

Good holiday back at you. No lumps of coal I hope.

Expand full comment

Knowing the day of the week is one of those optional things when you're retired. You could tell me today is Thursday and I'd be wondering, "Did I put out the garbage? Hell, is the can even full?"

Expand full comment
Dec 24, 2021·edited Dec 24, 2021

Hey, Roy! Happy Holidays to you and yours, plus everyone reading this.

Expand full comment

My usual Yule message is a pic my daughter sent from Yokohama in '11: a light up seated Buddha, leaning over his glowing begging bowl like a cell phone, with Santa Hat and tinsel:

"May your holiday season be filled with light and live."

Rest ye all merry.

Expand full comment

We love you man, and copy editing errors won’t hurt anybody. Happy happy.

Expand full comment

Being pagan I celebrate the solstice and make war on xmas - so here's to another year in the long battle!

Expand full comment

Thank you, Roy, and may your holiday be merry and bright!

Expand full comment

I wish you all a Happy Holiday season, Joyous Kwanzaa, etc.

Expand full comment

HAPPY FESTIVUS FOR THE REST OF US!

🎉I’ll be ready for the airing of grievances after I finish this martini!🍸

Expand full comment

Have a Holly Jolly Christmas, Roy. Happy Holidaze and Bonne Année, or as the Czechs say it, Veselý Silvesr (Happy Sylvester)!

Expand full comment

I live in South Jersey, so this may be a factor here -- but not once in three weeks of any sort of shopping have I heard a single clerk say "happy/merry whatever" to me upon our sale's conclusion. Not once.

I figure it's a combination of overwork/underpay/shitty labor conditions and the fact that fucking Christbots still come unglued when anyone says "Happy holidays" to them. So now maybe just saying nothing is easier/better/less stress? *

So... you know what this means, right...?

We've WON THE WAR ON XMAS!!!!

Hail Guinea Pig Satan!

* Also, and not for nothing, making any clerk say anything as a condition of employment is bullshit, so I'm not saying they should have to say anything.

Expand full comment

A fine Solstice season celebration to you however you wish to celebrate . May the sun return to our lives. The only predictable thing. So let us celebrate the end of the darkness and hope that one day it shall be banished in our real lives. Unfortunately, my hope in the young, and my increasing age means that I may not see what I wish for a final product.

Now to make cardamom cookies for fika tomorrow. My sweet wife had me multiple shopping missions in the past week, gathering ingredients. I was excited to see cardamom on the list again and she knew that I knew where there were a few little Indian grocery stores to find the fresh stuff. The last suggestion yelled in my direction was "Should I buy some fresh masa?". Yes, blue corn. So that was my last mission, five pounds of warm freshly ground masa. So many varieties of tamales tomorrow. Such is the variety of life if you see it.

I truly appreciate your writing. It is why I pay for things at this little dive bar.

Expand full comment

A Happy Yule to all Edrosians! May your days be merry and bright!

Expand full comment

Another COVID Christmas. Three new hours of insurrection video. Hearing Feliz Navidad in my head 24 hours a day. I don't care. Nothing can detract from the happiness I feel upon learning that Wirecutter selected one of my purchases as an "Our Pick" best. What could be more American than the pride and joy engendered by having one's buying decisions validated by elite experts? (Especially now that their union has reached a contract with the NY Times and it only took 2 years!) A mere "Happy Holidays" or "Merry Christmas" seems inadequate to the occasion but I'll say it anyway.

Hope Roy and y'all have a splendid holiday.

Expand full comment